Understanding DICOM



Each patient has x studies, which has y series, which has z instances, and could have f frames.


At each level of the hierarchy, there are attributes defined. Here are some examples (and by no means, complete).

Instance Series Study
instance series study
  • Instance UID
  • Height
  • Width
  • Position
  • Series UID
  • Modality
  • Description
  • Series Number
  • Body Part
  • Study UID
  • Date of Study
  • Description
  • Refer Physician
  • Accession
  • Availability